One of the latest email phishing scam campaigns making its way to various email accounts claims that your email account and device has been hacked. The email might appear to be sent to you from your own email account even though it was not. The email message says “I’m a member of an international hacker group” and claims that your email account was hacked and that they have access to your messages, social media accounts, and messengers.
The email claims that the self proclaimed hackers have access to all your accounts and try to frighten you by showing you your email account’s password that might or might not be current.
The email says that they are aware of your little and big secrets and that they saw and recorded your doings on porn websites. They claim that they will send all your messages and videos of you that they recorded through your web cam to all the contacts found on your devices if you do not pay $800 in Bitcoin within 48 hours.
Don’t be alarmed. The email is fraudulent and your email and other accounts have not been hacked. There is not a RAT or virus on your device (associated with this email at least). This is just one of the latest email scam campaigns going around related to a recent leak (LinkedIn, Adobe, etc.). However, it is strongly advised to immediately change your password. Especially if you use the same password for various accounts – change them all.
It’s okay to ignore the email message if you have received it. It is basically a phishing scam conducted by self-proclaimed hackers attempting to blackmail you through a series of email messages.
The message tries to frighten targets by claiming to have access to their messages, social media accounts, and more. It claims to have recorded video through their webcams and synced the recording to porn sites. The email message claims to know the password to your email address and demands that you pay them $800 or risk having videos of you sent to other people.
Subject Your Secret Life
Date 2018-10-10 18:16
I’m a member of an international hacker group.
As you could probably have guessed, your account [removed] was hacked, because I sent message you from your account.
Now I have access to all your accounts!
For example, your password for [removed]: [removed]
Within a period from July 30, 2018 to October 9, 2018, you were infected by the virus we’ve created, through an adult website you’ve visited.
So far, we have access to your messages, social media accounts, and messengers.
Moreover, we’ve gotten full damps of these data.
We are aware of your little and big secrets…yeah, you do have them. We saw and recorded your doings on porn websites. Your tastes are so weird, you know..
But the key thing is that sometimes we recorded you with your webcam, syncing the recordings with what you watched!
I think you are not interested show this video to your friends, relatives, and your intimate one…
Transfer $800 to our Bitcoin wallet: 1GdegtNpYcvoCPsMmyiSkZARDdAmYuXGXU
If you don’t know about Bitcoin please input in Google “buy BTC”. It’s really easy.
I guarantee that after that, we’ll erase all your “data” 🙂
A timer will start once you read this message. You have 48 hours to pay the above-mentioned amount.
Your data will be erased once the money are transferred.
If they are not, all your messages and videos recorded will be automatically sent to all your contacts found on your devices at the moment of infection.
You should always think about your security.
We hope this case will teach you to keep secrets.
Take care of yourself.
As you can see, the email can appear legitimate to many people. But, the same message has been sent around the internet to many people (word-for word) and there have been many campaigns like it in the past. Even if you have never visited an adult website, you will still receive the same message. Even if your device does not have a camera, you will receive the same message.
Do not pay the $800 and do not reply to the scammers. The only thing you need to do is change the password to your email address and other accounts you have for safe measure.
The email message does not mean that your computer is infected with malware; However, if you would like to remove malware and other potentially malicious files from your computer we recommended to use Malwarebytes. Here are some instructions:
1. Download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware software to scan your computer and remove malicious files and potentially unwanted programs.
2. To install the program, click the file you just downloaded. It can usually be located in the Download folder.
3. A window that says “Welcome to the Malwarebytes Setup Wizard” will appear. Click Agree and Install to begin the installation. Once complete, click Finish.
4. Now the Malwarebytes is installed, open the program and click the Scan Now button – or go to the Scan tab and click the Start Scan button.
3. When the scan is complete click the Quarantine Selected button.
4. If Malwarebytes says “All selected items have been removed successfully. A log file has been saved to the logs folder. Your computer needs to be restarted to complete the removal process. Would you like to restart now?” click the Yes button to restart your computer.