WARNING: closing of your Email Account is been processed

closing of your Email Account is been processed

If you received an email message that says your account will be closing due to 85% used data volume don’t be alarmed and don’t click links in the message. The email message is part of a phishing scam designed to obtain your email accounts password.

The email message says that the closing of your email account is being processed due to 85% used data volume and that you need to upgrade your email account to acquire a higher volume. The email claims that failure to oblige will result in your email account being deactivated.

Failure to oblige will lead to de-activation of mail box, you are advised to cancel the request now

The email message contains a link to allegedly cancel deactivation that directs you to a phishing website when clicked. If you visit the linked site it will ask you to verify your email account by providing your password and shows you an email shutdown timer (that will actually reset each time you visit the web page).

The website will ask you to enter your password twice to verify your account. You can enter a fake password to bypass the site, which will then forward you to your email provider’s website or the domain in the email address. and the email shutdown timer will

Here’s an example of the email message:

Subject: WARNING: closing of your Email Account is been processed
From: [Email provider or domain]
To: [Your email address]

Server Message

Attention: [Email name]

Avoid account de-activation, due to 85% used data volume and upgrade more volume for your email And this request will be processed shortly.

Failure to oblige will lead to de-activation of mail box, you are advised to cancel the request now

Cancel De-activation

However, if you do not cancel this request, the your account will be shutdown shortly
and all your email data will be lost permanently.
Regards.
Email Administrator

This message is auto-generated from E-mail security server, and replies sent to this email can not be delivered.
This email is meant for [Your email address]

The purpose of this email phishing scam is to phish your password by luring you into thinking that your email will be deactivated unless you visit a website to verify your account. There is no need to verify or upgrade your email account so do not provide your password.

If you have been tricked by this scam then your email account is compromised. It is recommended to immediately change your password.

Tips for making a secure password:

  • Make a unique password. Do not reuse the same password for multiple accounts.
  • Use strong passwords with numbers, letters, and special characters such as !@$#.
  • Use two-factor authentication to add an extra layer of security along with your password.
  • Use a reputable password manager if you have trouble remembering multiple passwords.

Sean Doyle

Sean Doyle is a tech author and engineer with over 20 years of experience in cybersecurity, privacy, malware, Google Analytics, online marketing, and other topics. Sean's content has been featured in numerous publications.