‘Request to shutdown your email’ email scam

Request to shutdown your email scam

An email scam claims that you recently made a request to shutdown your email and your account will be shutdown shortly if you don’t cancel the request.


One of the latest email scams claims that you recently made a request to shutdown your email and your account will be shutdown shortly and all your email data will be lost permanently if you do not cancel the request.

email cancel email

Email transcript:

FINAL WARNING
From [email provider] Email Service Providers

[email provider]

Attention: [name]
Our record indicates that you recently made a request to shutdown your email
[email address] And this request will be processed shortly.

If this request was made accidentally and you have no knowledge of it, you are advised to cancel the request now

Cancel De-activation

However, if you do not cancel this request, your account will be shutdown shortly
and all your email data will be lost permanently.
Regards.
[email provider]

This message is auto-generated from E-mail security server, and replies sent to this email can not be delivered.
This email is meant for: [email address]

The purpose of the email is to scare you into clicking a potentially malicious link provided in the email message. The email contains a link to allegedly “cancel De-activation” of your email account. When you click the link in the message you will be taken to a web page (https://tutuletrepy.myftp.org/account/en-1?email=) that can be harmful to your computer and privacy.

The link may direct you to a phishing website that tries to get you to input your email address and password, a website hosts malware and will infect your computer, a potentially malicious advertisement, or a survey designed to gather the information you manually submit to it such as your name, home address, and telephone number.

If you receive an email that is identical to the one mentioned in this article or similar to it, ignore it! It is best that you report it as spam if it is found in your inbox and delete it. Do not open the email and do not click on any links contained in the email message. Your email account will not shutdown if you do not reply to this email or participate in the instructions provided in the email message.

We recommend to scan your computer for malware with Malwarebytes if you clicked on a link in the email message. Malwarebytes will scan your computer for any threats that may have been introduced and remove any if found. It is completely free to use (scan and remove malware with), there is also a free trial of the full version with real-time protection that will prevent malware from spreading to your machine.

1. Download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware software to scan your computer and remove malicious files and potentially unwanted programs.

2. To install the program, click the file you just downloaded. It can usually be located in the Download folder.

install malwarebytes

3. A window that says “Welcome to the Malwarebytes Setup Wizard” will appear. Click Agree and Install to begin the installation. Once complete, click Finish.

scan now

4. Now the Malwarebytes is installed, open the program and click the Scan Now button – or go to the Scan tab and click the Start Scan button.

quarantine selected

3. When the scan is complete click the Quarantine Selected button.

4. If Malwarebytes says “All selected items have been removed successfully. A log file has been saved to the logs folder. Your computer needs to be restarted to complete the removal process. Would you like to restart now?” click the Yes button to restart your computer.

Sean Doyle

Sean Doyle is a tech author and engineer with over 20 years of experience in cybersecurity, privacy, malware, Google Analytics, online marketing, and other topics. Sean's content has been featured in numerous publications.