Block news-notification.tools pop-up notification messages (Chrome)

If you notice pop-up notification messages on Google Chrome from news-notification.tools there is a security issue with your Chrome notification settings. News-notification.tools is a malicious website that takes over your notification settings in order to promote third-party malware, potentially unwanted programs (PUPs), and browser extensions. News-notification.tools will utilize various methods to take-over the “Allow” list without your knowledge and consent.

news-notification.tools pop-up message

News-notification.tools displays a variety of messages that can say things like Your file is ready, Your free movie is ready, You have (1) new message, and more.

If you receive a pop-up notification message from news-notification.tools it means that the message is not legitimate, there is no movie, file, or message ready for you to view or download. The message just wants you to download and install a rogue browser extension, a potentially unwanted program (PUP), or malware.

In some cases notification messages can be from a legitimate source such as a website that you recently attempted to download something from. However, this is not the case with messages sent from news-notification.tools.

If you want to remove news-notification.tools pop-up messages here is a guide that shows you how to turn off Google Chrome notifications and block or remove notifications that you simply do not want to see from news-notification.tools and other sites.

  1. Go to Settings > Advanced > Privacy and security > Content settings > Notifications (or visit: chrome://settings/content/notifications).
  2. To turn off Google Chrome notification messages move the blue toggle next to the Ask before sending feature. It will say Blocked when this is complete.
  3. To block or remove a specific notification that you do not want to see go to Allow and locate the website the notification is from in the list. Click the URL settings and select Block or Remove to either block or remove the site from showing you notifications. You can also manually add the URL of the website you want to block to the Block list

Remove notification

John Boyle

John is a tech author and engineer with over 20 years of experience in cybersecurity, privacy, malware, Google Analytics, online marketing, and other topics. Sean's content has been featured in numerous publications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.