‘Malware on the web page with porn’ email scam attempts to blackmail you

email

Sextortion email scam campaigns are becoming increasingly common. One of the most recent campaigns claims that a hacker attached malware to a web page on a porn site and grabbed all your private data. They claim to have switched on your web cam and recorded you in the process of your solitary sex.

The purpose of this email is to attempt to blackmail you for a certain amount of Bitcoin. The email says that you have 30 hours from when you open the email to send a payment to their Bitcoin wallet or risk having your dirt sent to all of your contacts.

There is nothing to be alarmed about though because this email is meaningless and untrue. A hacker did not obtain private information about you and has not recorded you through your web cam.

If you received an email message that says “I write you since I attached a malware on the web page with porn which you have viewed” ignore it.

Here’s what is written in the email message:

Subject: Hi, victim.
From: grbds
To: [removed]

Hi, my sacrifice.

I write you since I attached a malware on the web page with porn which you have viewed.
My virus grabbed all your private data and switched on your web camera which recorded the process of your solitary sex. Just after that the soft saved your contact list.
I will delete the compromising video records and information if you pay me 500 USD in bitcoin.
This is address for payment : 1JvBohLBA6vbq57JU4DcQGjw7ztfnfKvvB

I give you 30h after you open my report for making the transaction.
As soon as you read the message I’ll see it right away.
It is not necessary to tell me that you have sent money to me. This wallet address is connected to you, my system will erased automatically after transfer confirmation.
If you need 50 hours just Open the calculator on your desktop and press +++
If you don’t pay, I’ll send dirt to all your contacts.
Let me remind you-I see what you’re doing!
You can visit the police office but no one can’t help you.
If you try to cheat me , I’ll see it right away!
I don’t live in your country. So they can’t find my whereabouts even for 9 months.
Goodbye. Don’t forget about the shame and to ignore, Your life can be ruined.

The email can appear legitimate to many people, especially those who frequent adult websites. However, the same message has been sent around the internet to many people (word-for word) and there have been many campaigns like it in the past. You will receive the message even if you have never visited an adult website and even if your device does not have a camera.

Email message campaigns like this have been making circulation following recent breaches that occurred on websites like LinkedIn and Adobe. But, this email is not associated with a breach and is less frightening than others like the “Hacker who cracked your email” email scam where the scammer has obtained information about their targets in a leak.

Do not pay the BTC and do not reply to the scammers. The only thing you need to do is change the password to your email address and other accounts you have for safe measure.

The email message does not mean that your computer is infected with malware; However, if you would like to scan your computer for malware and other potentially malicious files we recommended to use Malwarebytes. Here are some instructions to scan for and remove malware:

1. Download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware software to scan your computer and remove malicious files and potentially unwanted programs.

2. To install the program, click the file you just downloaded. It can usually be located in the Download folder.

install malwarebytes

3. A window that says “Welcome to the Malwarebytes Setup Wizard” will appear. Click Agree and Install to begin the installation. Once complete, click Finish.

scan now

4. Now the Malwarebytes is installed, open the program and click the Scan Now button – or go to the Scan tab and click the Start Scan button.

quarantine selected

3. When the scan is complete click the Quarantine Selected button.

4. If Malwarebytes says “All selected items have been removed successfully. A log file has been saved to the logs folder. Your computer needs to be restarted to complete the removal process. Would you like to restart now?” click the Yes button to restart your computer.

Sean Doyle

Sean Doyle is a tech author and engineer with over 20 years of experience in cybersecurity, privacy, malware, Google Analytics, online marketing, and other topics. Sean's content has been featured in numerous publications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.