‘Delete Message After Reading!’ RAT software into you device email scam

Delete Message After Reading scam
One of the latest email phishing scam campaigns making its way to various email accounts claims that your email account and device has been hacked. The email says “we have installed one RAT software into your device” and further states that it has recorded video of you during sensitive moments. The email claims that if you do not pay $800 in BTC that they will send a video to all your colleagues and friends.

The email is fraudulent and your email and other accounts have not been hacked. There is not a RAT on your device. This is just one of the latest email scam campaigns going around related to a recent leak (LinkedIn, Adobe, etc.). However, it is strongly advised to immediately change your password. Especially if you use the same password for various accounts – change them all.

Also see: ‘Your Account Was Hacked’ by an international hacker group email scam

It’s okay to ignore the email message if you have received it. It is basically a phishing scam conducted by self-proclaimed hackers attempting to blackmail you through a series of email messages.

The message tries to frighten targets by claiming to have access to their messages, social media accounts, and more. It claims to have recorded video through their webcams and synced the recording to porn sites. The email message claims to know the password to your email address and demands that you pay them $800 or risk having videos of you sent to other people.

Delete Message After Reading!
From (your email address)
To (your password)

Hi, dear user of (your email address)
We have installed one RAT software into you device.
For this moment your email account is hacked (see on <from address>, I messaged you from your account).
Your password for (your email address): (your password)

I have downloaded all confidential information from your system and I got some more evidence.
The most interesting moment that I have discovered are videos records where you masturbating.

I posted my virus on porn site, and then you installed it on your operation system.
When you clicked the button Play on porn video, at that moment my trojan was downloaded to your device.
After installation, your front camera shoots video every time you masturbate, in addition, the software is synchronized with the video you choose.

For the moment, the software has collected all your contact information from social networks and email addresses.
If you need to erase all of your collected data, send me $800 in BTC (crypto currency).
This is my Bitcoin wallet: 1HqUfvPooEY3fQPsuM4dRzq5uzTQjDoYpt
You have 48 hours after reading this letter.

After your transaction I will erase all your data.
Otherwise, I will send video with your pranks to all your colleagues and friends!!!

And henceforth be more careful!
Please visit only secure sites!
Bye!

As you can see, the email can appear legitimate to many people. But, the same message has been sent around the internet to many people (word-for word) and there have been many campaigns like it in the past. Even if you have never visited an adult website, you will still receive the same message. Even if your device does not have a camera, you will receive the same message.

Do not pay the $800 and do not reply to the scammers. The only thing you need to do is change the password to your email address and other accounts you have for safe measure.

The email message does not mean that your computer is infected with malware; However, if you would like to remove malware and other potentially malicious files from your computer we recommended to use Malwarebytes. Here are some instructions:

1. Download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware software to scan your computer and remove malicious files and potentially unwanted programs.

2. To install the program, click the file you just downloaded. It can usually be located in the Download folder.

install malwarebytes

3. A window that says “Welcome to the Malwarebytes Setup Wizard” will appear. Click Agree and Install to begin the installation. Once complete, click Finish.

scan now

4. Now the Malwarebytes is installed, open the program and click the Scan Now button – or go to the Scan tab and click the Start Scan button.

quarantine selected

3. When the scan is complete click the Quarantine Selected button.

4. If Malwarebytes says “All selected items have been removed successfully. A log file has been saved to the logs folder. Your computer needs to be restarted to complete the removal process. Would you like to restart now?” click the Yes button to restart your computer.

Sean Doyle

Sean Doyle is a tech author and engineer with over 20 years of experience in cybersecurity, privacy, malware, Google Analytics, online marketing, and other topics. Sean's content has been featured in numerous publications.

1 Response

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.