Related Posts



How To Show Or Hide The Windows 8 Recycle Bin Desktop Icon

Show/Hide Common Desktop Icons – Recycle Bin

The Recycle Bin is a common Windows desktop icon that can easily be disabled and enabled or even removed from on the Windows desktop.

Show or hide Windows Recycle Bin on desktop

This tutorial will explain how to properly disable or enable Windows Recycle Bin and how to delete files immediately (bypass the recycle bin) or move files to the Recycle Bin before deleting them. We will explain how to show or hide the Recycle Bin icon on the Windows 8 desktop (and all Windows operating systems as well).

How To Show Or Hide The Windows 8 Recycle Bin Desktop Icon

The video and instructions below detail how to remove or show the Recycle Bin desktop icon.

1. Access the Show or hide common icons on the desktop –  Desktop Icon Settings window by searching for the location on Window’s start menu search, or any search box provided by the Windows operating system.

Typedesktop” or “show“, even copy and paste Show or hide common icons on the desktop to display the location and click Show or hide common icons on the desktop when the option is prompted.

2. On the Desktop Icon Settings window, to hide the Recycle Bin on Windows desktop, make sure the radio box representing the Recycle Bin is not selected.

Windows 8 Desktop Icon Settings - Recycle Bin

To show the Recycle Bin icon on Windows desktop click and fill in the radio box that represents the Recycle Bin.

Disable/Enable Recycle Bin Deletion

The video and instructions below detail how to enable and disable bypassing the Recycle Bin when deleting files, in order to immediately delete files (etc.) from your computer, or turn the immediate deletion setting off. If you plan to hide Windows Recycle Bin, you may be interested in immediately deleting your files as well.


This will allow deleted files to bypass the Recycle Bin.

1. Right click the Recycle Bin desktop icon and click properties.

2. Select the radio option representing Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted to bypass the Recycle Bin when deleting files and click OK to save settings.

Dont move files to the recycle bin when deleted - auto delete files

To change the Recycle Bin to default settings, chose the Custom size option.


banner-1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>